Moonlight On the River

Down to the River in the fullness of night

I dance, in the clearness of air and starlight.
To the banks of the River, that melt out of sight
Into the River; with its rush and its trill;
They sing to me still,
The ripples and rills,
Of my dance down the hills
Into the River at midnight.

There do I stand, in the trueness of dark,
Void of thrush, void of lark–
There do I glory, and in ripples, I mark
My face, silhouetted in moonlight.
I grasp in the currents, to hold in my hand
The glow of the moon on water, in sand;
It slips through my fingers, and escapes to the land
To pursue all the shadows of twilight.

Up from the River, in the fullness of night
I dance, in the clearness of air and moonlight–
From the banks of the River,
Which melt out of sight
Into the River, in starlight.
Leave a Reply

