My Portion Forever

Has anything ever felt like a “wearisome task” to you?  There are plenty of things I could think of.  They range from actual tasks to character issues, to even the ever-present “wait” so many girls are in.  It can be very wearisome — trusting God.  Sometimes you can feel like you’ve waited for an answer long enough, or that God is holding out on you.  I felt like that in deciding on a college. Why didn’t God answer?  I had deadlines to meet!  But God doesn’t work with deadlines.

“But when I thought how to understand this, it seemed to me a wearisome task, until I went into the sanctuary of God; then I discerned their end.” (Ps. 73:16-17)

In the end, everything worked out perfectly.  I continued to pray “in the sanctuary of God”, and within a day of the deadline, everything was made clear.  Decisions were finalized.  Plans were laid out.  All because we waited on the Lord.

“Nevertheless, I am continually with you; you hold my right hand.  You guide me with your counsel and afterward you will receive me to glory.  Whom have I in heaven but you?  There is nothing on earth that I desire beside you.” (v. 23-25)

Uh-oh.  There is nothing on earth I desire beside you.  Is that true?  I have a hard time saying it.  I have no one in heaven but Him; but couldn’t I maybe have someone down here, too?  Perhaps in time.  But for now, He wants to be everything to me — for if He is not, my focus will be on myself and my own desires, and not on His will. 

“My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” (v. 26)

What a promise.  Even if I fail, He is the strength of my heart, and my promised portion for all of my life.  A ‘portion’ is like a ration — a ration of food.  Food satisfies the hungry.

“Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.” (Ps. 90:14)

“But for me it is good to be near God; I have made the Lord God my refuge, that I may tell of all your works.” (v. 28)

It is indeed good for me to be near God.  When I am not, my flesh and heart DO fail.  But when I am near him, He is my refuge and my strength.

Nearer, my God to Thee; nearer to Thee; Even though it be a Cross that bringeth me.  Ever my song shall be “Nearer, my God to Thee!”; Nearer, my God, to Thee; Nearer, to Thee….

6 Responses

  1. How true, how very true. If only we impatient people would remember to wait on the Lord and trust him for our every earthly need.

    I have something for you at Beautiful Grace.

  2. Wow, Phylicia. I truly needed to hear this today… some of my favorite verses (for a reason!) you used in this post. It was renewing to read this. Thanks for letting God’s Word speak through your sincere passion and love for Him.

    Also, thanks for the link to my new site… that was very sweet of you.

  3. Great post! Thank for sharing these great verses and your thoughts. How hard it is to wait on the Lord… but how good it is when we do. May we be able to set our eyes on Him at every moment, so that we “may rejoice and be glad all our days.” Blessings…

  4. Those are probably some of my favorite verses of the whole Bible. Very encouraging post!

    By the way, do you go to Liberty University? I’m a high school junior and I was just down there for College For a Weekend..

  5. Phylicia,
    Thanks for the comment! I’m actually considering the LU high school distance learning program next year for my senior year in high school. I have a cousin who goes to Liberty, so visiting the campus was fun. They seem to have a really great discipleship/ accountability program on campus, which I really liked. I still don’t know where I’m headed for college, though..
    Yeah, I’d love to link your blog! God bless you!

  6. What a challenge. I always find it hard to keep turning my eyes upward. It’s so easy to get caught up with little finite things… but trusting in the Lord never fails to bring peace.

Leave a Reply

