On my 18th Birthday

Well, today is May 5th, my 18th birthday.  I have wanted to be eighteen for as long as I can remember, but somehow it doesn’t feel like anything really astounding changed :-).  My family and friends gave me wonderful presents and I had a little party yesterday with three girls, and played tennis today with my Grandpa Jerry, so it has been very fun.  I guess at the age of twelve I thought the magic age eighteen immediately qualified you as an adult; and at the time I remember wishing I was such simply so I could buy a candybar whenever I wanted and Mom couldn’t say it would spoil my dinner.  Eighteen, in itself, qualifies you for only two things — you can smoke and you can vote.  Neither of which are momentously memorable.  But to the world, eighteen means you are an adult; however unprepared most eighteen year olds may be.  The fact that I am an “adult” (at least by the world’s standard) has awakened me more to the need to be one.  It isn’t all fun and games anymore.  Of course, I am not going to dress in black and write poems on My Lost Childhood, but if I am by title an adult, I need to live up to my title.  I have a list in my mind of things about myself I need to change… it’s very long… and birthdays are as hard for me as New Year’s, with all my resolutions and promises.  However, more important than any promise I make are the ones my Father makes to me. 

In my “Bedside Blessings” book, my birthday devotion is:

“God keeps His promises.  It’s a major part of His immutable nature.  He doesn’t hold out hope with nice-sounding words, then renege on what He said He would do.  God is neither fickle nor moody.  And He never lies.  As my own father used to say of people with integrity. “His word is His bond.”

                                                                                                                   ~Charles Swindoll

I will cry to God Most High, to God who accomplishes all things for me.   (Psalm 57:2)

To the God who accomplishes all things for me… all things for me.  I’m not on my own – I don’t have to face this life by myself.  I can count on Him to be faithful to every one of His promises — one of which is to help me be faithful myself.  He is a wonderful God, a Wonderful Counselor; my Bright Morning Star. 

I have told the glad news of deliverance in the great congregation; behold, I have not restrained my lips, as you know, O Lord.  I have not hidden your deliverance within my heart; I have spoken of your faithfulness and your salvation; I have not concealed your steadfast love and your faithfulness from the great congregation… may all who seek you rejoice and be glaad in you; may those who love your salvation say continually, “Great is the Lord!” As for me, I am poor and needy, but the Lord takes thought for me.  You are my help and my deliverer; do not delay, O my God.  

(Ps.40:9-10,16-17)

4 Responses

  1. 18 is such a big milestone! 🙂 My sister turned 18 in February, in time to register to vote. She’s excited! 🙂

  2. Ahh to be 18. I wanted to feel that “grownupness” when my birthday rolled around. Don’t know if I’ll EVER feel it. *sigh* They call us adults when we get to this age. HA! We’re just kids who are old enough to know better than to make the mistakes we make. lol…
    CONGRATS ON BEING 18! Isn’t God good to let us make it to this age?

  3. A very happy birthday to you! 🙂 I came across your blog through Kaysie’s.

  4. Hey Phylicia! Sorry I haven’t been by in awhile… Happy Birthday! (even though I am a little late!) 🙂
    I miss your posts… but I know you’re busy.

    Hope you are doing well.

Leave a Reply

