An Anniversary of Love

July 5th, three years ago, I wrote in my journal:

Dear Lord,

When I asked you to keep my heart for me, I wanted to keep it for myself still.  I realize now for you to accomplish what you will in my life, I have to completely submit to your plan… Please help me Lord, to find what your calling for me is.  Is to be a wife and mother?  A wife of a missionary?  A single woman dedicated to serving you? …Help me to use these years before I meet my Knight in Shining Armor to serve you as that single woman.  Help me to shine, Lord, with your love for all around me.  The love you have for me, Jesus; that you would die for me.

July 5th is special day to me, as it is the anniversary of my commitment to Christ.  While I believe I was saved at fourteen, it was on July 5th, 2005, that I submitted my heart to Him and began to seek Him on a daily basis.  Our relationship became what it had never been before — a relationship of love, not duty.  And now whenever July 5th comes around, it is the anniversary of my surrender to Him that I commemorate. 

Often during my teens, and even now, I would have times when I felt very alone.  When everyone else was dating, and I was being asked why I was not, it was easy to feel like I was missing out on something absolutely wonderful.  After all, everyone sang about it, talked about it, and did it!  So it was during these times that I found my comfort in the thought that I was the bride of Christ — that He loved me with a love everlasting.  Living in that thought, I found peace.

“I remember the devotion of your youth, your love as a bride, how you followed me in the wilderness, in a land not sown.” (Jer. 2:2)

I never want to lose the love I had when I first committed to Him; I never want to become so cold that I am no longer willing to follow Him into the wilderness.  Distractions and the appealing things of the world try to dissuade me from my First Love, but He says:

“Hear, O daughter, and consider, and incline your ear: forget your people and your father’s house, and the King will desire your beauty.  Since He is your Lord, bow to Him… All glorious is the princess in her chamber, with robes interwoven with gold.  In many-colored robes she is led to the King, with her virgin companions following behind her.  With joy and gladness they are led along as they enter the palace of the King.” (Ps. 45:10-15)

Forget the distractions.  Forget the appeals of the world.  Forget the worries, the concerns, the burdens of daily life, for the King desires your beauty!  He desires to use you to glorify and honor His name.  But He needs your willing heart.  That is what I hope never to lose.  It is the willingness of the bride to follow her husband that shows her love of him; but if she neglects to tend to her heart, the emotional connection that was there at first will fade.  Emotion is never enough to carry through any relationship; surrender your will, and the emotions will follow. This was a lesson I had to learn over the years I spent with Him.

Through the past three years, there have been two other passages that have been my comfort and my hope:

“… Her righteousness goes forth as brightness, and her salvation as a burning torch.  The nations shall see your righteousness, and all the kings your glory, and you shall be called by a new name that the mouth of the Lord will give.  You shall be a crown of beauty in the hand of your God.  You shall no more be termed Forsaken, and your land shall no more be termed Desolate, but you shall be called My Delight Is in Her,  and your land Married; for the Lord delights in you, and your land shall be married… for as the Bridegroom rejoices over the bride, so shall your God rejoice over you.”  (Is. 62:2-5)

His Delight is in me?  I thought. How great a love is this! Not only does He delight in me, but I also delight myself in Him:

Trust in the Lord, and do good; dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.  Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.” (Ps. 37:3-4)

As I wrote before in my study of this verse, the desires of my heart have changed.  I can truly say, “Whom have I in heaven but you?  And there is nothing else on earth that I desire besides you.” (Ps. 73:25)  He is all I need.  I am surrendered to Him alone…

Take my heart; take my soul;

I surrender everything to your control.

And that all that is within me

Look up to you and say

I am Yours and Yours alone…

Completely.

(Completely, Ana Laura)

5 Responses

  1. Amazing. Beautiful. 🙂
    Actually July 4th is kind of an “anniversary” for me and the Lord as well. (I actually just wrote a post on it a few days ago…)
    You beautifully wrote about all the joys and struggles and victories we face when we are completely His. It is amazing how we have many of the same “life verses”. I felt like I was listening to myself throughout this post.
    Thanks for the encouragement, Phylicia.
    Happy Anniversary…

    ps: thanks for the link! 🙂

  2. Wow. God is cool.

  3. That is exactly the topic that i have been thinking so much about lately. It is so hard to surrender fully to him, (I pretty much have to recommit everyday), but the joy coming through that relationship is so wonderful… i wouldn’t trade it for the world.
    Thank you for your blog. Such an encouragement =D

  4. Hi Phylicia ~ What a milestone! Thank you for sharing that with us. It’s a great reminder that Christ is our first and true love – only He is completely faithful. What joy is to be found in His presence.

    Have a blessed day,
    Amanda

  5. For me, it’s a daily prayer to remember that I’m the bride of Christ, I belong to Him, and He’s all I need. It’s really something I have to daily give into God’s hands in order to live my life devoted to Him, void of distractions.

    Thanks for the reminder. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

