His Delight

Have you ever felt forsaken?  Have you ever had that sense that you are all by yourself, that you’re doing this on your own?  That you are living life solely on your own will power and strength?  It’s a hard way to live.  It is an unhappy, discontented way to live.  Unfortunately, I am all too well aquainted with it.

It certainly isn’t God’s fault that I feel this way.  These emotions and feelings of loneliness are only a product of my own distrust.  My tendency has always been to try to focus my own strengths toward “glorifying God”; toward serving Him, being good, reading my Bible.  But I missed the whole point!  If I trusted God with my heart, my paths, my dreams and the molding of my character, I would glorify Him — because it wouldn’t be me.  It would be Him, through me. 

In striving to glorify God with my sinful self, I continued depending on that same self, which inevitably leads and has led to failure.  Consequently, and out of my continued lack of trust (it compounds quickly) I doubted that I could be forgiven.  I doubted God’s character… and His sacrifice.  My knowledge of who He is began to fade… and as I knew Him less, I trusted less as well.  The cycle continues until you hit rock bottom and cry out, “What happened?  How far have I fallen from where we were?!” 

Desolate.  Forsaken.  Alone.  That’s how it feels.  Yet I have no excuse for those feelings.  The promises of our Lord counter and destroy them.  If I live in these thoughts of failure and discontent I am living a lie, because God has laid before us all the truth of His love, His grace and His mercy.  His arms are open — but wallowing in self-pity and relying on will power alone, I turn away.  But the ever present Help calls me back:

“You shall no more be termed Forsaken, and your land shall no more be termed Desolate, but you shall be called My Delight Is In Her, and your land Married, for the Lord delights in you, and your land shall be married.” (Isaiah 62:4)

Every girl longs for a love story, but before me today is the love story of a lifetime, between the God of the universe and one sinful, wandering little girl.  How many times He has taken me back after I fail Him!  How many times has His grace been my comfort!  To live in the thought that I am forsaken is to live in deceit.  He is there — He always will be… “And behold, I am with you always; even to the end of the age.” (Matt. 28:20)

You are His delight, and He wants to be yours.  You are never forsaken, for He will never leave you nor forsake you.  Live in this hope, trusting Him to make you the person He desires you to be.  You are His bride, His delight — what grounds have you to distrust Him?

4 Responses

  1. Sometimes no matter what we know to be true, we can’t help the way we feel. I recently wrote on the subject of being alone, but from the point of view of being the only person of faith surronded by a world full of unbelivers. http://themasterstable.wordpress.com/2008/07/13/ever-feel-like-youre-alone/

  2. Wow. I can truly relate to your thoughts here. Lately I have been really struggling with these feelings, but to hear your encouragement blessed my heart. Thank you, Phylicia. I hope to live in this hope and trust Him with my whole heart. 🙂

  3. Wow! That is exactly what God has been teaching me this summer! It’s so refreshing to find some one else who is struggling too! I can’t wait to read more!
    God bless, Caroline

  4. Thanks for these great, encouraging thoughts, Phylicia.

    BTW, I’ve linked to you. 🙂

    Maria Pauline

Leave a Reply

