He Is Always With Me

Conferences are one of my favorite things in the world to attend.  The picture here was taken when I was at the Winsome Women conference on Mackinac Island this past spring.  It was my fourth time and my friend’s first.  As I was flipping through some of my sermon notes, I noticed I had the notes I had taken at the conference and thought I would share a few with you.

Perhaps you have heard of the writer and speaker Liz Curtis Higgs.  She wrote the “Bad Girls of the BIble” series, as well as a newer book called “Embrace Grace”.  Single until late in her thirties, she truly understands how to make the most of singleness and marriage.  It is her message I am going to share with you because it truly touched my heart, and I hope it touches yours.

He Is Always With Me                          May 15, 2008

“…”Teacher, this woman has been caught in the act of adultery.” Jn. 8:4

Liz shared the story of this woman with us… “The woman caught in adultery was worthy of condemnation, but Jesus, the one who could have cast the first stone, chose to overlook and forgive her sin…”  Romans 5:8 says, “…but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” 

There is a difference between Conviction and Condemnation:

Conviction — draws you near God;  Condemnation — pushes you away

For God did not send His son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him.  John 3:17

We are actually in a more amazing time now than 2000 years ago with Jesus, because each believer has the Holy Spirit residing inside her.  The Good News is:  God is always with you.  The Bad News is:  God is always with you! He is there in temptation, available for strength — and He will convict you when you fail.  Yet you have no reason to fail, for He is right beside you! No matter who you are, His is a “one size fits all” kind of love. 

What about singleness?  You are married to your Maker — which sets you free from a need to be completed by a man.  What does your Husband do?  He rules the universe!  We are loved and cherished by Him — He doesn’t push us to love Him, but He doesn’t back off either.  When you are tempted to self-pity, and Satan throws stones of doubt at you, remember:

A man has already died for you.

God does not condemn you, but He will convict you.  Just as He does not condemn you, so you should not condemn others.  You have no need to fear nor feel alone, because He is always with you.  He IS your strength and He will guide you through all your days.  Trust Him.

One Response

  1. Dear Phylicia,
    This is true not only for the unmarried but also for the married. To know that our husband here on earth is just as human as we are takes some time getting used to keeping God number one. This is, of corse, my personal oppinion. I tend to rely a lot on my husband and when his job takes him out of town is when I (litterally) get down on my knees and beg God to bring me back into the living room with Him that I may listen to His teaching. I fall apart when I start trying to make my husband happy. When I focus on God everything works out fine. Life on earth is never a bowl of charries without any pits, but the pits are fewer and much much farther in between when my focus is on God and not on man. Yes, I am married and happily so, but know that just because you are married doesn’t mean satin stops shooting arrows at you, rather they are of a different sort.

    As for the condemning…to notice ones sliver is not to say you don’t have a plank or that they are going to hell because of the sliver, but noticing that it is there. There is a difference between dicerning and judging. To discern is to notice that something is right or wrong to judge is what God will do in the end. It’s not a job I would want to have … EVER! I bring up discerning and judging in with the condemning because I think they all go togeather. And quite often I hear the verse quoted…judge not lest ye be judged. When I look up discern in my study bible (NIV) there is quite a list and it seems to be a good thing…Pr. 17:24 “…A dicerning mand keeps wisdom in view…” Pr. 14:6 “… knowledge comes easily to the dicerning…” Pr. 28:7 “…He who keeps the law is a discerning son,…”
    So, I get discerning to be encouraged and judging to not be our job. That is God and God’s alone. Take heart, it is not a job any of us would want, it’s like cleaning out the toilet after a really packed building after a long conscert. *smile*

    Remember to pray always. Blessings, -me- (Mommy of two little blessings)

Leave a Reply

