She Meeteth Him in the Street…

This will be my final post of the topic of flirtation for a while.  We have discussed how guys flirt, how to deal with it, how girls flirt, how to prevent it, and whether or not guys can be friends.  Now I am going to address the final stage of flirtation — when it becomes who you are.

I believe that most of my readers walk with the Lord close enough that flirtation will never become a lifestyle.  But if it is left unchecked, it can quickly slide itself into everything you do.  It will be an unconscious motivation, revealed through your actions with both men and women.  It becomes who you are.

Any sin left to itself will do this.  Flirtation is no different.  Yet flirtation has greater consequences than other ‘respectable sins’ — at least that we can observe.  Flirtation encourages attention when a relationship is not in the position to culminate it.  It is treading on thin ice… and if you keep walking on it, before too long, it will crack beneath you. 

There is an example given to us of the woman who has made flirtation her personality in Proverbs 7.  Carefully read what she does, and see if you can make a corollation between her and the modern-day flirts the world presents to us:

“And behold, the woman meets him dressed as a prostitute, wily of heart.  She is loud and wayward, and her feet do not stay at home; now in the street, now in the market, and at every corner she lies in wait. 

She seizes him and kisses him, and with bold face she says to him, “I had to offer sacrifices, and today I have paid my vows; so now I have come out to meet you, to seek you eagerly, and I have found you…”

“My husband is not at home, he has gone on a long journey; he took a bag of money with him; at full moon he will come home.”   With much seductive speech she persuades him; with smooth talk she compels him.

… And now, oh sons, listen to me, and be attentive to the words of my mouth.  Let not your heart turn aside to her ways; do not stray into her paths, for many a victim has she laid low, and all her slain are a mighty throng.  Her house is the way to Sheol, going down to the chambers of death.” (Prov. 7:10-27)

Look at the things she does; this woman 1) dresses immodestly, as a prostitute; 2) is wily of heart, evil of motivation; 3) she is loud; 4) she does not stay at home, but chases men; 5) she touches and kisses him aggressively; 6) she lies about her spiritual walk; 7) she is unfaithful to her husband; and 8 ) her ways lead to spiritual death.

This woman has let the little desires for attention to take over her life, and become who she is.  Flirtation, left to itself, will breed and fester until it takes over motivation and will.  Christ must reign in your heart to conquer it.  In our single years, Christ is our ‘Husband’.  Will you tell others that ‘he is on a long journey’ by acting as though he is not present in your life?  Or is He always with you, monitoring your actions by your love for Him?  I am confident that you girls will choose the latter.

God Bless!

4 Responses

  1. Just a quick note, Pylicia. Knowing that this is out there, the job of selling ones body, we need to pray for our husbands, sons, nephews, grandfathers, and uncles that the Lord keeps their eyes and minds on Him. That they are given the strength and foresight to say NO! When satin shoots arrows at them, that they would be able to hold up their shield to blog them. I know that some ladies have the problem of lust as well and therefore let me add as an end note…pray for the ladies in your family as well. Satin is not above reproach and so will slip in any crack he can fine. Let’s not give him that opportunity.

    Remember to pray always. -me- (Mommy of two little blessings)

  2. Hello. Thanks for taking the time to visit my blog (The Hope Chest ~ ABCs about me, or whatever I called it). I guess I should say my other blog ~ not the one I’m linked to here. It looks like you have interesting topics going on here. I’ve bookmarked you!

  3. Dear Phylicia,

    What a beautiful site. I can see there is a fire within you that shines a light through the darkness. Thank you for being the “pen” in the Almighty’s hand. He has done a good work in you. 🙂

    To the two blogs I just read (“holding on for the fairytale” and “she meets him in the streets”) i was touched tenderly by your insight without a judgemental spirit. 🙂 Thank you for bringing a voice of reason with tenderness.

    Having been in dark paths of my own and looking to the comfort of people to satisfy the longings I understand and see the blessing of “what might have been” if I had allowed the Creator of my heart truly heal my heart before shelling out the peices. I have loved the Lord with all of my heart since I was a Freshman in highschool. Having said that I can be honest enough to say that my actions have not always followed suit due to my own abysses of wounds left undelt with. Instead I quickly brush over and move on. “Okay… so this is my brokenness. Now lets move on. It’s over and I can’t change it so here you go Lord” and yet quitely stealth like taking it from him and placing it on the dark web-ridden “handle it myself” shelf. In my later years much has grown, healed, and changed for the better of course and I am blessed that God (as he promises) has used it all to his glory and restoration. I too speak to the world of today … in my case I am saying revealing the absolute truths of the pains and scars they leave. The enemy is like a crouching lion waiting to strike and to resist him is to push back and let him know you see his cunningness and you Choose to not follow his lead for the trap.

    We do need to be in prayer for not only our men but also for our women. In the saturation of todays “SEX SELLS” society and “EQUAL OPPORTUNITY” we have been sold a rotten bill of goods that stinks to high heaven in the death of our souls and heart break. Women just as men are getting caught in the visual seductions and our men are not as much the aggressors as they once were seen to be.

    I will be praying for you and those God is using you to speak to as well as keeping you protected on this journey to shine His light and thank you so much for being willing heart, mind and soul. 🙂 Be blessed and encouraged as you travel on this journey. You are a beautiful creation of His handiwork and I am blessed to have met you.

    Much regard and respect,
    sister to mommy of 2 little blessings.

  4. Thank you so much for the visit. 🙂 yes the post is my own poetry. 🙂 Thank you for your compliment. It was the provoking of the sweet Abba himself. 🙂 I pray your night is blessed and look forward to reading more of your work. i am putting you in my blog roll of ones I enjoy to visit as to encourage others to read your work. 🙂 Be encouraged and blessed. 🙂 Glad to be getting to know you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

