The ‘Good’ Kind of Party

When I went downstate to spend a weekend with a friend who was at college, she told me how some other students in her apartment complex were constantly inviting her and her roomate over for ‘a party’.  They never quite defined what ‘party’ meant.  From the thumps, shouts, and raucous laughter my friend rightfully inferred that it was the kind of party she didn’t want to be at.  “Why can’t people just party the GOOD way?!” She exclaimed to me.  “WE know how to party down in godliness!”

This isn’t exactly an astounding, controversial or life-changing topic.  It’s the topic of Fun.  However, fun is a part of life too, and how we go about having it directly affects us and our witness.  How can we have a good time without sacrificing our walk with God?  It’s very possible.  But it comes down to what you want.

The world advertises a specific kind of fun to us, saying that if we aren’t doing these specific things, then truly, we aren’t having fun at all.  The world’s definition of fun is, from a Christian perspective:  “sexual immorality, impurity, and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft… fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like…” (Galatians 5:19-21).  These things come wrapped up in neat, pretty little packages — like cocktail parties, ‘romantic’ nights out that escalate to greater proportions, clubs and groups that dabble in cults or witchcraft, and ‘harmless’ visits to bars and nightclubs.  To our world, these things are just part of life.  Yet for the Christian, these are representative of the life they left behind. 

For Christian girls and boys, usually homeschooled, doing these things is the last thing on their minds.  It wouldn’t even occur to you to go to a bar, much less to attend a drinking frenzy on a beach somewhere.  For the Christian, the problem comes from compromise.  We can’t just say “I don’t drink” and call it good. Our commitment requires us to go deeper in evaluating what we do and where we go.

I have been invited to parties where they would be drinking.  I have been places where drinking was taking place.  Being in the presence of drinking does not motivate me to join in, but at the same time, if I were endorsing the goings-on with my presence, then perhaps the better choice would be to leave.  This is not simply for my sake, and my reputation, but also for my witness.  People judge Christians by their actions — if we seem to be compromising a life of purity for the sake of a good time, our representation of Christ is sullied.

This post is not about drinking.  Drinking is just one of those widely accepted aspects of our culture that is too often taken too far.  Alcohol in and of itself is not evil:  it is not a ‘demon in a bottle’.  But we must ask ourselves:  who is my God?  Can I give up drinking this at a party even if I look like the stick-in-the-mud?  Can I give up anything so that God is truly God in my life?

It could be drinking; it could be an occultic game; it could be a questionable relationship; it could be gossip — it could be anything that feels like fun!  In that moment we have decision to make.  Do we sacrifice Christ on the crucifix of Good Times, or do we allow Him to reign over every circumstance?  It is perfectly possible to have a wonderful time with friends without turning our backs on the grace of God.  I will discuss how to ‘party down in godliness’ in my next post!

2 Responses

  1. Dear Phylicia,
    Hello. I liked where you were going with the dating and rushing into merriage thing, but didn’t have much to add after my first few comments, sorry. I am one of those who married right out of high school to the man the Lord has gifted me with. We have been blessed with two of the most wonderful, precious, gifts two people in love could be given (and I am not talking about our cat and dog *smile*). I know girl friends are important and great to have around, but now that I am in the married “bunch” it’s a fine line we walk. To not talk about the many gifts I have received in my merriage so as not to have them feel pressured to get into a realationship with a man or to get married before it’s their time, and then not wanting to “nag” them about their personal life as far as guys goes is tough. I am curious so I ask, but when a relationship grows in different directions due to changes in life, I am learning that it’s okay to leave my friends, whom I consider family, in the hands of my Lord. This is not an easy thing to do, but when friends grow and mature sometimes their paths are not side by side any longer.
    Okay, I’m sinking into a downer mood and that is not what I intended to do when I stopped to leave a message. *smile*
    Thank you for making time to visit my blog this morning. I hope you enjoy your creamed collards when you get the chance to make them. Take care and rememeber to pray always. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving if we miss eachother inbetween now and then. *smile*
    Harvest blessings.-me-(Mommy of two little blessings)
    p.s. sorry, just digging a bit too deep for bloging today. *smile*

  2. Another great post Phy =) Totally right on.

Leave a Reply

