My Kinsman Redeemer

In Beth Moore’s “Praying God’s Word” she has a chapter on feeling ‘unloved’.  Within that chapter are so many verses that assure God’s faithful love to us:  his everlasting, never ending love.  I read and pray these verses whenever I feel tempted to throw a pity party for myself.  Yet out of all the verses, there is one that Beth adapted and that I wrote out because it holds so much meaning for me.  Perhaps it will for you too. 

Before I write it here for you, I want to give a little background for it. Many of you know the story of Ruth — there’s a whole book about her in the Bible.  Ruth was a Moabite who married into an Israelite family.  Not long after she married her husband, he and his brother died, as well as his father.  This left Ruth, her sister-in-law Orpah, and her mother-in-law Naomi alone.  Naomi, bitter and unhappy, decided to return to her homeland, but bid her daughters-in-law to go back to their families.  Orpah did, but Ruth replied:

“Do not urge me to leave you or to turn away from you, for where you go, I will go, and where you stay, I will stay.  Your people will be my people, and your God my God.  Where you die, I will die, and there will I be buried.  May the Lord do so to me and more also if anything but death separates me from you.”  (Ruth 1:16-17)

Naomi consented to Ruth’s determined devotion, and the two women travelled back to Israel –specifically, the town of Bethlehem.  There Ruth began to glean in the fields for grain.  One particular field belonged to Boaz, a wealthy man who lived in the area.  When he saw Ruth, he asked who she was, and finding that she was Naomi’s relation he made sure she received more grain than anyone else.  When Ruth brought the grain home to Naomi, Naomi asked, “Where did you glean today?  Where did you work?  Blessed be the man who took notice of you!” (Ruth 2:19).  Upon hearing that the man was Boaz, Naomi said:  “The Lord bless him!  He has not stopped showing his kindness to the living and the dead.”  She added, “That man is our close relative; he is one of our kinsman-redeemers.” (Ruth 2:20)

In that day, the closest male relative of a widow had the duty to marry her so she could be supported.  Boaz was one of those kinsman-redeemers.  As a kinsman, he had the first right to the bride, to redeem her from her suffering and shame.  Boaz, however, was doing more than his duty.  He loved Ruth. 

The rest of the story tells the beautiful romance that Boaz and Ruth had.  Next to Jesus, Boaz is my favorite character in the Bible.  He is truly the ‘knight in shining armor’ that we hear so much about!  Yet the character of Boaz is only a symbol of one so much greater, with so much more love.  One who is our Kinsman Redeemer.

Jesus Christ is our Kinsman in that he was man and God.  He was our biological equal, but our spiritual superior.  As Kinsman, he has the right to the Bride above all other suitors.  He has redeemed us from our suffering and shame as widows of sin, and taken us as his own.  He is our hero, our knight — our Boaz.  His love is everlasting, his redemption is complete, and his hope is in us as His bride.

I wrote down that quote from Beth Moore on a card, and have it on my bedside table to remind me of the privilege of having such a redeemer as Him.  Every morning that is what I wake to, and every night I see it when I fall asleep

Jesus Christ, my Kinsman Redeemer and Bridegroom… 

Your banner over me is love.

 

2 Responses

  1. That put a big smile on my face. It’s truly beautiful!

  2. Great job. Looking forward to reading what’s next.

Leave a Reply

