First Love

Some mornings I wake up happy, not knowing exactly why.  Then, as my eyes adjust to the light, I remember some wonderful thing that is happening that day, and excitedly I leap out of bed.  I have heard that’s how it is with first time love.  You wake up knowing your sweetheart is yours, forever, and it’s just the thing that makes the morning cheerful. 

When I was first saved, that’s how it was for me.  I’d wake up thinking, “Why do I feel like something is about to happen?  Oh yes, Jesus!”  As time goes on though, and as we hear the same messages and sermons, and sing the same songs, our faith fades from initial devotion to duty.  Duty turns to drudgery.  When life becomes a drudgery, we no longer act out of love.

God had something to say about this topic in Revelation 2:4-5:  “But I have this against you, that you have abandoned the love you had at first.  Remember therefore from where you have fallen; repent, and do the works you did at first.”  (ESV)

How do we keep the first love burning?  How do we keep it fresh in our hearts, never letting it burn out to duty or become the sullen ember of monotony?  We cannot depend on emotion because love is not dependent on how we feel.  Love dictates emotion.  We must be so dedicated to Christ that our love of Him changes how we think, act and feel.  When He is our first love, all other loves automatically take second place.

A bride does not keep former boyfriends around ‘just for fun’ in case her husband gets boring.  He is her first and only love — no matter what the distractions.  Out of her love of him she eliminates the other distractions, so that her emotions remain fixed where they belong.  Can we do this with our relationship with God?  What must go in order to keep Him as our first priority?

Perhaps you don’t feel loved, so you think you aren’t.  Perhaps you have tried to fill that need for love with other people, only to be frustrated when they fail you.  Maybe you’ve tried to fill the gap with material things or money.  “I was ready to be sought by those who did not ask for me; I was ready to be found by those who did not seek me.  I said, “Here am I, here am I”…”  (Is. 65:1)  No matter how much you ‘look for love in all the wrong places’ you won’t find the love that fulfills. 

Here is the truth:  “Nevertheless, I am continually with you; you hold my right hand.  You guide me with your counsel, and afterward receive me to glory.  Whom have I in heaven but you?  And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.  My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”  (Ps. 73:23-26) 

His is a love everlasting, the first and the last, the beginning and the end.  Let Him be your beginning, and He will make your life beautiful to the end.

One Response

  1. That was very nice. Thank you. I love Psalm 73. Absolutely life changing.

    -Sol
    http://www.calebandsol.com

Leave a Reply

